Looking for…..

Well, I’m still in a slump. My energy level is really low, and all I want to do is knit. Is there such a thing as unhealthy knitting? Knitting as sedative? Hard to say.

How do you know when you should just cut yourself some slack and when you should try to kick yourself in the ass. That’s the hard thing for me. That balance. If my energy level is o.k. and I have the time, most of the other stuff is no problem for me.

I often think (perhaps too often) that if I just won the lottery, everything would be fine. Not because I aspire to a life of luxury, (budgeting and enjoying small things works just fine for me), but because I would have TIME. Time and no stupid “I’m-only-doing-this-job-for-the-rent-and-health-insurance” stress.

I suppose these are small things, in the scheme of things. Really. But in the effort to create things, they are huge for me. My brain just digs in it’s heels and refuses to co-operate under less-than-adequate conditions. So what to do? What do you do when stupid day-to-day stuff seems to make creativity impossible?

Just when I think I’m going to chuck it in, I try to catch upon blogs or flickr. And really, when you see all this incredible work and read about everybody else’s creative efforts, how can one even think of giving up?! It doesn’t necessarily get me fully back in the fight, but it sure convinces me that the fight is worth fighting….

1. *, 2. * ring by Rae Ann, 3. Plexi Axe (2008. IT) Ring 112.1, 4. Accidental Self-Portrait, 5. Strange vegetations 3, 6. mio-peeps_027, 7. breather lace fabric!, 8. Illum. Wash., D.C. (LOC), 9. Untitled, 10. Apple Blossom Piercing, 11. Cage Ring (2008, IT) Ring 108.10, 12. IMG_1241, 13. underneath, 14. Emergent Fossils Series, Untitled, Unfinished, 15. giant fingertraps, 16. Untitled, 17. My glass ice and a cherry, 18. kerstin klix, 19. summer colors, 20. A collection of objects., 21. Powderpuff, 22. Reversible Spectrolite Pendants.. Side II, 23. junk jewelry by jane eldershaw, 24. Fresh Orange, 25. Untitled, 26. rivière de diamands, 27. the two sides, 28. Pendientes Meandros, 29. Gleba, 30. -Oid, 31. hooped petals 2, 32. Insects of South America, 33. medium cube rings colors spectrum, 34. Planet Claire 17, 35. Untitled, 36. the Dubiel Gallery opening11

All this and more at my flickr favorites.

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I know what you mean about being in a slump. I think that it’s the weather for me. Summer was always a downtime for me because until the past couple of years I was usuing a studio at the local college that was closed in the summer. I always seemed to get back in the swing of things just before Fall in time to order new supplies. But now I have to work up the energy all year. Susie Monday has some creative boosts on her blog right now, maybe they’ll help.

    Reply
  2. ooh it happens to me either!! i would love to have the money to do a jewellery summer course at europe or ny..or to just do what i like without worry..

    and my energy is just like yours quite high today and extremely low tomorrow..and i share wendy’s weather is an issue..(rain and cold wind instead of summer..even if summer is never too hot..) that between other personal matters that are not as well as i’ll like..at the end you have to find the way and continue looking for the best and founding energy somewhere..blogs are quite a terapy for me!!

    😉 beautiful mozaic, thanks for including my rings!!

    Reply
  3. i used to dream of winning the lottery while working at jobs just to have a job….and how i would spend it…where i would travel…and YES, all the extra time i would have!!! (a job really interferes with one’s creative life, doesn’t it!!?? …i’m sure i’m not helping.)
    anyway, there is never such a thing as too much knitting!! i repeat: there is never such a thing as too much knitting!! it helped me through many bad/difficult times. i guess because you get in that meditative state where you don’t/can’t think of anything other than the stitches you are making. and of course the thoughts of the gorgeous finished product! 🙂

    Reply
  4. …i just saw 1 of my pics in your mosiac!
    *thanks*

    Reply
  5. Kate, I’m so sorry to hear that you’re slumping. I certainly know how that feels. I’m still in a bit of one myself.

    Not too much advice to offer other than take time for yourself, do some things you really love without having to account to anyone (even yourself). Read a yummy book. Sit in nature for an hour and just breathe. It’ll lift at some point, but you can’t rush it so just take life one day at a time and do what you can do.

    Feel better soon,
    L ~

    Reply
  6. Sorry, of course I meant Kait. Rude thing.

    Reply
  7. Hello–

    A friend found your site looking for my work online. It’s very interesting, and I’m glad you feel strongly about my work. Could I just ask one favor? Could you put a link to my website up? I would really appreciate it. http://www.jillianmoore.net

    Thank you

    Reply
  8. No problem! I don’t update my links list as often as I should, so thanks for the heads up! I do love your work.

    kait

    Reply

Leave a comment