budding

I’d meant to write more earlier about my thinking going into this project, but a) that seemed boring without any pictures, and b) time is passing rather quickly, deadline-wise.  So I’ll have to just plunge ahead and try to interject a little ‘why’ and ‘how’ as I go along.  Unfortunately, the deadline is five weeks away, so play-by-play detailed documentation may lose out in the mad dash.  I’ll do my best.

Briefly:

  • As the Bosch piece is a triptych, I’d originally mulled over the idea of three pieces, perhaps in some sort of display case.  But, having decided to use wood, a new-to-me medium, I realized that I had to be realistic about my learning curve.  So, now I’m hoping for one piece, a necklace, composed of three parts.
  • Having first played around with some simple shapes, I wanted to figure out if I could execute the most complex form in the piece first.  Because if I can’t, I’d better get another idea, fast.  (This would definitely fall under the heading of “things I’ve learned from watching Project Runway.”)  It’s o.k. to take big leaps and mess around and make mistakes, but you’d better do it early.  You’ve got to know when to move on to something more attainable so that you have something solid when you get to the “make it work” point.
  • I think the most difficult part will be something evoking the sprouting plant/flame form in this detail here. There are similar forms sprouting from the fountain in the left hand section of the triptych, and as part of the monument/shelters at the top of the middle section.  (full triptych here)  I like it’s wild, vegetal shape, it reminds me of a favorite Goethe essay, and think it would make a great pendant.

So the question is:  Can I recreate or suggest that form effectively by carving wood?


a beginning

higher relief

the beginnings of another attempt

(I want to get more outward curve on the leaves/petals)

another test element, thinking about hooks and eyes

More soon….

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

