Sorting things out

I’m trying to get back into the swing of things. There is (hopefully, fingers crossed) a change in the works at my day job which will help me get back to being more creatively productive. I’ll talk about it more when it’s a done deal, but for now, let’s just say that I’m more convinced than ever that it’s not just a matter of skills and ideas. It takes a lot of time and management of other aspects of one’s life to consistently produce good work.

As usual, one of the hardest things is always figuring out what to concentrate on. I still have all the ideas that the one-a-week project generated, plus the project #7 which didn’t happen on time. The one project that feeds into all the others is opening an etsy shop, which I’ve been meaning to do for over a year. The dilemma has always been between selling work from before my hiatus started, versus wanting to open a shop with brand new work. The latter is just so much work that it’s been too easy to feel like I don’t have the time and energy. So I’m working on a compromise.

The compromise is to open two shops. I know that doesn’t seem like less work, but hear me out. In all my contemplation of etsy, I’ve been conflicted about selling loose beads (handmade lampworked by me) in the same venue as finished jewelry. In my experience, it just always leads to finished jewelry getting under valued, which is enough of a problem as it is. ( Do not ask me how often I’ve overheard persons at art fairs remarking to their companions that they could go to the bead store and make something for half the cost. It is hard to believe how little people understand about pricing and running a business and making a living.)

So my intention is to generally sell loose beads in one store, and finished jewelry in the other. This weekend I started going through all my odds and ends and sorting them into color families for some ‘grab bag’ type assortments. I have some fun packaging which I’m working on, and I need to take photos and get some procedural stuff planned out. I’m not ready to estimate an ‘opening day’ yet, but I think things are rolling again. Maybe. Finally. I think. Fingers crossed.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Ooh, I’m so excited for you. I think this is a great idea. I’ve always wondered why you weren’t on Etsy. Looking forward to future developments.

    Reply
  2. I know how you feel. It took me over a year to open my etsy site too. I’m still toying with the idea of multiple stores, one for paper and another for jewelry.
    Love the beads! Best of luck to you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

