One-a-Week Six: the dilemma

It seems to me that there are two ways to go with this challenge.

  1. One could approach the limitation to plant materials as one would approach any other limitation. One would ask oneself questions about not only aesthetics, but about durability and functionality. It seems to me that this is what the PR designers did in the Garden Party episode. Garments were constructed from greenery, for the most part, and while construction was certainly a challenge, I don’t really remember anyone having a serious materials meltdown. They made practical choices.
  2. Or, one could say, ‘practicality be damned!’ and embrace the ephemeral nature of plants, and flowers in particular. One could make a piece for a specific occasion, not worrying whether it would live past that specific runway. I think that Nina and Michael had hoped for a little more risk taking on this front. I remember that they bemoaned the lack of more exuberant color.

I want to go with option number 2. I want to celebrate spring and a finale for this project with a joyous explosion of color. And I intend to. But, given my schedule, I do not have complete freedom over when I can collect materials. I know that it is unwise to leave the procurement entirely until friday morning. It is possible that time will take it’s toll before friday even arrives, if I’m unlucky. So there is some tentative plan B-type thinking going on.

Stay tuned….

By the way, did everyone see Alisa’s week five piece? I think it is just fantastic! Just goes to show that even a somewhat ambiguous challenge can result in inspiring work in the right hands. Kudos!

See here for this weeks challenge.

For more on the challenge, there’s a photoset at Flickr
and all the One-a-Week Six posts.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. awww, thanks!

    for using real flowers… have you ever seen jennifer kellogg’s real flower necklaces?

    http://www.jenniferkellogg.com/eshop/productsByCategory.asp?intCatalogID=10001&strCatalog_NAME=The+Flower+Collection

    Reply
  2. Wow! That’s quite the gorgeous (and ingenious) idea! I don’t think that I’ll have time to get mine worked out quite so cleverly….:)

    kait

    Reply

Leave a Reply

