Chain Link Sketches

chain bookAnother book that I’ve check out of the library numerous times in the last ten years or so. I’d found a copy at Alibris recently, but it was gone before I could talk myself into buying it. I was sad. But when I looked again this weekend there was another copy, so I snapped it up. I couldn’t wait for my copy to begin sketching. So chock full of idea goodness, that it almost paralyzes me. Seriously. This is the most sketching I’ve ever done from this book. I’m glad that I’m finally getting my excitement about this book out of my head and onto paper. The next step is to get some of it into the glass. Trying to look at these with the strengths and weaknesses of borosilicate in mind, while being realistic about my technical skill level. Must also remember that the crisp lines of a pencil drawing are not always possible in glass. Must figure out how to work with the glass, not against it.

chain close-up

chain close-up 2

chain close-up 3

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Lyndybaby

     /  January 1, 2008

    F.Y.I. You should check out the glass chain necklaces at http://www.geocities.com/anodyneknight/chain.jpg You can also find it at http://www.jellyfishjoy.com in there online market. This might be an inspiration to you.

    Reply
  2. Those are beautiful! I especially like the effect of using the colored twist inside the transparent glass. Are these your work? If not, do you have any work online? I’m hoping to get back to this project soon, so thanks for the nudge! Thanks for stopping by.

    Reply
  1. watch fob, chain and clasp sketch « tether
  2. Inching along « tether

Leave a Reply

