In with the New

The snowy view

res·o·lu·tion (rěz’ə-lōō’shən)
n.

  1. The state or quality of being resolute; firm determination.
  2. A resolving to do something.
  3. A course of action determined or decided on.
  4. A formal statement of a decision or expression of opinion put before or adopted by an assembly such as the U.S. Congress.
  5. Physics & Chemistry The act or process of separating or reducing something into its constituent parts: the prismatic resolution of sunlight into its spectral colors.
  6. The fineness of detail that can be distinguished in an image, as on a video display terminal.
  7. Medicine The subsiding or termination of an abnormal condition, such as a fever or an inflammation.
  8. Law A court decision.
    1. An explanation, as of a problem or puzzle; a solution.
    2. The part of a literary work in which the complications of the plot are resolved or simplified.
    3. The progression of a dissonant tone or chord to a consonant tone or chord.
    4. The tone or chord to which such a progression is made.
  9. Music
    1. The progression of a dissonant tone or chord to a consonant tone or chord.
    2. The tone or chord to which such a progression is made.
  10. The substitution of one metrical unit for another, especially the substitution of two short syllables for one long syllable in quantitative verse.

The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition
Copyright © 2000 by Houghton Mifflin Company.
Published by Houghton Mifflin Company. All rights reserved.

I’m not so fond of the tradition of “making Resolutions,” which is so ironic, since I love a good Plan. I love Systems. I love Goals. I love Schedules and Solutions. How can I hate Resolutions? I think it’s because resolutions have all this baggage that comes in being associated with the New Year. Clearly I’ve resisted that natural deadline, January 1st. And if one hasn’t come up with one’s Resolutions by then, well, it’s too late. A belated Resolution becomes a mere resolution, and then, one might as well wait ’til next year. And there’s this whole reputation of the likelihood of failure. All those Gym memberships that never get used. All those good intentions which just end up being completely unreasonable when the irrational good cheer of the holidays fades away. The stink of unrealistic self-expectations.

And yet, it is a time of year when attempting to implement change makes sense for me. The rush of sales are over, and I have no deadlines until the next Crawl in April. The days are still so short, and the cold and snow of winter have finally come. So when better to contemplate the New, to sit in a quiet, warm room, with coffee or tea, and pore over the notebooks, the sketches and the Lists. When there’s a -5 degree windchill outside, it’s hard to take seriously the idea of any sort of obligations besides getting to work and back. How helpful that I work in a grocery store and that I live next door to a coffee shop. Even taking the bus to the studio becomes a hit and miss proposition, at the mercy of the weather. So it’s time to hunker down and plot and Plan. To be honest, I think that one reason I’ve delayed in working on this was that it really hadn’t snowed until about a week ago. It just didn’t seem like it was The Right Time yet.

And also, to be honest, some of the reviewing I’ve already done of last years aspirations reveals some goals not met, mostly ones which were rather specific, and of a financial nature. And so I stall with the analysis, hesitate to renew the effort, and resist the making of Goals which might not be met. So it is the 20th day of this great New Year, and still no PLAN. Perhaps I wind myself up too much about this. PERHAPS?!

And yet, I do desire “firm determination” about some “course of action.” So I will try to concentrate on the “process of separating or reducing” my desires for the future “into (their) constituent parts.” I will not become obsessed with “an explanation, as of a problem or puzzle; a solution.” But rather will try to listen for “the progression of a dissonant tone or chord to a consonant tone or chord ” with out getting lost in “the fineness of detail that can be distinguished.”

Oh, how I love me a good Plan
hipPDA

So beautiful, the potential.

hipPDA in use

The messy reality. But perhaps the fiddling with printing cards and fashioning covers will keep me fast in my resolve.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Resolution: the progression of dissonance into consonance « tether
  2. Resolve « tether

Leave a Reply

