Food for Thought

The sales last weekend went well. The Tilsner one was very nicely set up, especially considering how many artists there were. And, while I know that part of what people enjoy about the Crawl is seeing our spaces, I think that for a short event like this, having everyone in the lobby area was really best. There was a nice energy level with us all together, and the holiday decorating was beautiful and unified everyone’s things nicely. Thanks to Jill for organizing everything!

Things at the Semi-Automatic sale went well too. This open house is always a nice sale, one of the many benefits of renting space there to do the torch-work. (The Tilsner doesn’t allow open flame or propane and oxygen tanks.) I frequently see repeat customers year after year, mostly because it’s my only bead sale, but also, I think because it’s a very low key, festive affair, and it has a twenty-something year history, since before I participated. Somehow, this year the day seemed to go faster, yet also felt more relaxed. While sales were down a bit from the last few years, they were pretty good, and much better than I had feared. That’s the thing about sales; so much of how one feels about how much one made has to do with what one expected or hoped for in the first place. All the hours I put in last week making beads were well compensated and I’ve even had a few follow-up sales already. So now I can relax and breathe a bit.

left desk detail

For quite a few years, I have made it a habit to take some time out after my holiday sales are done to review the previous year and set new goals, as well as to research new ideas and generally regroup. I’m sure I’ll write more about this as I work though the process over the next month or so, but the visuals of the process of me poring over last years goals are rather boring. So, since I think that eye candy is important, I thought that I’d initiate another project that I’ve been meaning to add to the blog: sharing what I refer to as my “visual fodder.”

fod·der (fŏd’ər)
n.

  1. Feed for livestock, especially coarsely chopped hay or straw.
  2. Raw material, as for artistic creation.
  3. A consumable, often inferior item or resource that is in demand and usually abundant supply: romantic novels intended as fodder for the pulp fiction market.

Dictionary.com. The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition. Houghton Mifflin Company, 2004. http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/fodder

ORIGIN Old English fodor, of Germanic origin; related to Dutch voeder and German Futter, also to FOOD

I think I started using this word because I was collecting food for my brain, and because I knew that I wanted to have it around to look at and digest on a regular basis. To discover that it’s primary usage is one associated with livestock (just like the word tether) amuses me to no end. I suppose that sometimes it does seem like there is a part of my brain that is a big, dumb, hungry cow that needs to be fed and kept from wandering off. I just never thought of it that way before. No particular fondness for bovines.

home work space

So this is my workspace at home. Lots of clutter. There are many ways in which moving into this space has helped my work. The main one is having the square footage in which to be able to mess around. And there’s this nice sized wall, above some storage shelves, that’s evolving into a sort of bulletin board, a kind of externalized map of my brain. There are practical zones; the yearly calendar in the middle, shelf space for books (see above), but more importantly for me, there’s the dynamic space to fill with things that I want to look on a daily basis. I’ve wanted to have the ability to “live with” selected images on a more constant basis for a long time, and I think that I’ve noticed a real benefit in keeping my brain more constantly inspired over the past year. There’s some a my older work, a few quotes that I’m mulling over, but mostly visual ephemera from magazines and other sources. More details will follow in the future, as I’m hoping that this blog can be a sort of virtual extension of this visual brain space.

right desk

An old display board with a constantly shifting collection of my work. I pull things down to wear on a regular basis; it’s sort of my daily jewelry box. I would like to document this better now that I have a digital camera.

 

rlm #1

A spread with bracelets by Robert Lee Morris, from Elle, I think, from ages ago. I love the simplicity of much of his work, the way that these pieces come across as pure pattern. Below is an image from the same spread with a necklace, bangles, hoop and hanging earrings, entwined in real branches, complementing the pieces and presumably hinting at the designers inspiration.

rlm#2

Below: The cover of a brochure promoting the publication of 25 years of New Glass Review, which I would love to have, but for now, I love this small survey of various glass artists. The New Glass Review is a yearly publication of The Corning Museum of Glass .

Corning Image

And lastly, a sheet of insect stickers from The Paper Source. According to the back of the sheet, the images originated here. I was unable to locate these specific images at this site, but I think it bears further perusal.

insect stickers

More to follow….

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Thank you for sharing photos of your studio -It looks wonderful. I love the inspiration board.
    Glad your weekend sales went well -again, I wish I could have attended. Maybe one of these days we’ll be in the same show:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

