The Brain Resists

precrawl1web1.jpg I’ve been kicking another entry around in my head for a couple of weeks, and it just hasn’t come together yet. A sort of manifesto: why this blog, why art, why craft, why jewelry, why “tether”? And, predictably, the self-imposed dictum of declaring: THIS IS WHAT I AM ABOUT! has resulted in my brain’s stubborn refusal to co-operate. This is often a struggle: me vs. the things I MUST do, even when the MUST is of my own making. Always working on strategies for tricking myself into not noticing that I’m “doing what I must,” trying to minimize the duration of the “NO, I WON’T!” response, the resistance. Let’s call it what it is: the temper tantrum. I was a very compliant kid, pretty much doing what my parents and teachers asked of me. But these days, put a deadline in front of me, and I’m all kinds of rebellious. Luckily, the temper tantrum is pretty much entirely in my head, so my partner sees some steam escaping out my ears, but the rest of the world is pretty much spared. But “managing” this tendency is a big part of trying to do creative work. Especially lately, since I’m in a transitional phase, trying to figure out new things to do and new ways to do them. Part of this is still adjusting to seeing a blog as a work in progress, not getting hung up on every entry being a finished piece that sets my identity or intention in stone. (What an archaic turn of phase! Do any words get carved in stone anymore? Seriously….?)

But other things, like deadlines that actually involve other people, intervene. precrawl2web.jpgSo, the manifesto will have to wait. And get broken down into more manageable chunks. And re-written. And revised. And hopefully transformed from a self-absorbed MANIFESTO, into a more interesting ramble that is actually thought-provoking, and, hopefully, conversation- provoking. Because truly, I have plenty of thoughts. What I really like is conversation….

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

